Tuesday, April 12, 2016

JMU at NCUR 2016

On April 6th, JMU sent some our its students down to UNC Asheville to present at the 30th annual National Conference for Undergraduate Research (NCUR).

Among the twelve students sent were four physics majors, listed below with their topic of research.

Catherine Witherspoon ('17) presented her astronomy research with Dr. Anca Constantin via a poster: A Wise Test of Links Between Megamaser Activity and Nuclear Observation.

Hans Olson ('16) presented his materials science research with Dr. Costel Constantin via a poster: Structural and Electrical Characterization of Manganese Oxide Films Deposited by Dc Magnetron Sputtering on Silicon and Sapphire Substrates.

Devin Buennemeyer ('16) presented her material science research with Dr. Christopher Hughes with a presentation: The Design and Fabrication of Microfluidic Devices for Neutron Analysis.

Evan Meekins ('16) presented his medical physics research with Dr. Derek Dolney (University of Pennsylvania Hosptital) with a presentation: Fitting the Bragg Curve: Increasing the Accuracy of Proton Therapy with On-site Data Analysis.

Congratulations to everyone who presented!

2016 Honors Recipients

Many thanks to everyone who was involved in this year's honor banquet and helped honor our amazing students!

Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients:

Premal Patel for receiving the Don E. Chadrow, Physics Alumni, and Henry W. Leap scholarships

Kenneth Gordon for receiving the Raymond A. Serway scholarship

Congratulations to Olivia Cypull, Justin Leas, and Evan Meekins for their performance at the JMU Undergraduate Physics Symposium

Congratulations to the following Physics Awards recipients:

Josiah Lapolla for receiving the JMU Physics Service award

Tyler Stephens for receiving the JMU Physics Teaching award

Daniel Stein for receiving the JMU Planetarium Service award

Evan Meekins for receiving the JMU Physics Research award

Congratulations to Catherine Witherspoon for being honored as the Outstanding JMU Physics Junior

Congratulations to Evan Meekins for being honored as the Outstanding JMU Physics Senior

And congratulations to all of the students who were inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma.  It is an honor to share in the same academic fraternity as you all (listed below)!

Russel Blair
Dan Breyesse
Meagan Cronin
Emily Dick
Kenneth Gordon
Josiah Lapolla
Erin O'Brien
Premal Patel
Jeffrey Small
Catherine Witherspoon

Monday, April 11, 2016

Honors Banquet 2016

Dr. Ioana Niculescu presenting the Outstanding Senior award to Evan Meekins.

On the evening of April 6, 2016, we celebrated the achievements of our outstanding students again this year.  You can see photos the attendees and all the recipients at this link.