Sunday, April 13, 2014

Spring Picnic 2014: Physics Phun in the Sun!

On Sunday April 13th 2014, the @JMU Physics and Astronomy Department celebrated the onset of spring (finally!) with our departmental picnic at Purcell Park. Organized by Dr. C. Constantin, the department provided various foods and drinks for the students, staff, and faculty of the JMU physics and astronomy department. Dr. G. Niculescu (pictured below in his styling apron) cooked hot dogs and hamburgers (both beef and vegetarian), while others brought their favorite dishes and snacks.

After eating and chatting, the competitive spirit caught on and the departmental soccer (futbol) game ensued. Teams captained by Dr. C. Constantin and Dr. Feitosa played energetic game of Romania vs. Brazil!

Everyone had a blast and is looking forward the Fall Picnic...Now get back to work! Finals are coming!

Pictures by Dr. J.T. Haraldsen

Friday, April 11, 2014

Polariton evaporation ...

All bodies with a temperature emit blackbody radiation.  However, radiative polaritons in thin dielectric films and crystals emit radiation, therefore they have a temperature!  The discovery was made at JMU by assuming that radiative polaritons are bosons.  It was useful, said undergraduate student Yosyp Schwab, to take Statistical Mechanics last Fall 2013!  For more details:    Y. Schwab, H. S. Mann, B. N. Lang, and G. Scarel, “Polariton evaporation: the blackbody radiation nature of the low-frequency radiation emitted by radiative polaritons to the surrounding space”.  World J. Cond. Matter Phys. 4, issue 2 (2014).

Wednesday, April 02, 2014

The 2014 JMU Physics and Astronomy Honors Dinner

On April 2nd 2014, @JMU Physics and Astronomy honored the students that have proven they are the best of the best. Honorees received awards in areas like outstanding senior and junior, as well as physics service, research, teaching, and the planetarium service. A number of student received tuition scholarships, while others were inducted into the Sigma Pi Sigma (The Physics Honors Society).

The following awards were given out.

Physics Awards

Outstanding Senior Physics Major - Denise E. McKaig
Outstanding Junior Physics Major - Kirill O. Korsak

Service Award - D. Alex Loving
Teaching Award - Nicholas A. Hagans
Undergraduate Research Award - Daniel A. Gilman
Planetarium Service Award - Caitlin M. McDermott

Tuition Scholarships

Don Chodrow Scholarship - D. Alex Loving
Henry W. Leap Scholarship - Kevin S. Hunter and Daniel C. Shorts
Physics Alumni Scholarship - Charles B. Crook
Raymond A. Serway Scholarship - Charles B. Crook, Emily E. Dick, and D. Alex Loving

Society of Physics Inductees

Nicole C. Creange
Gregory M. Houchins
Kirill O. Korsak
D. Alex Loving
Chester J. Szwejkowski
Daniel G. Votaw

Physics Symposium Awards

1) Emil Christensen
2) Daniel Votaw
3) Maggie Maruschak

Congratulations to all the honorees!

Below are pictures from the wonderful event.