Wednesday, April 02, 2014

The 2014 JMU Physics and Astronomy Honors Dinner

On April 2nd 2014, @JMU Physics and Astronomy honored the students that have proven they are the best of the best. Honorees received awards in areas like outstanding senior and junior, as well as physics service, research, teaching, and the planetarium service. A number of student received tuition scholarships, while others were inducted into the Sigma Pi Sigma (The Physics Honors Society).

The following awards were given out.

Physics Awards

Outstanding Senior Physics Major - Denise E. McKaig
Outstanding Junior Physics Major - Kirill O. Korsak

Service Award - D. Alex Loving
Teaching Award - Nicholas A. Hagans
Undergraduate Research Award - Daniel A. Gilman
Planetarium Service Award - Caitlin M. McDermott

Tuition Scholarships

Don Chodrow Scholarship - D. Alex Loving
Henry W. Leap Scholarship - Kevin S. Hunter and Daniel C. Shorts
Physics Alumni Scholarship - Charles B. Crook
Raymond A. Serway Scholarship - Charles B. Crook, Emily E. Dick, and D. Alex Loving

Society of Physics Inductees

Nicole C. Creange
Gregory M. Houchins
Kirill O. Korsak
D. Alex Loving
Chester J. Szwejkowski
Daniel G. Votaw

Physics Symposium Awards

1) Emil Christensen
2) Daniel Votaw
3) Maggie Maruschak

Congratulations to all the honorees!

Below are pictures from the wonderful event.